top of page

Law isn't my 'Dream Job'..


You might be surprised to learn that my 'dream' job isn't, in fact, law. However, ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I ask you to consider the case I lay out before you as to whether one's 'dream job' truly is worth pursuing.

I have had a passion for acting since I was a young child and for a long time, I dreamed of becoming an actress. Until about the age of 15, I was set on becoming a film star and enrolled in various drama classes over the years- which despite the change of heart, were brilliant and beneficial to my skill sets today. You see, the acting industry is notoriously hard to crack and I was not about to settle for one-off cameos. It is worth stating here, that I urge you not to dismiss your dreams simply because the are challenging or the odds unlikely. Instead, I am asking that you consider what you truly want out of life and whether the profession you so desire can give you that.

The motto that I live by is "temet nosce" a Latin phrase that translates into "know thyself". I know that in my life I want; stability, wealth, mental stimulation, balance and happiness. I then considered the prospect of being in the acting industry and if it could provide for me, these things. I considered in a manner as simple as this:

  • Stability: Unless you are signed to a series (though longevity is still not guaranteed) income is unstable due to constant rejection from auditions etc. Would require a second job to sustain.

  • Wealth: Potentially. If successful you may find yourself sharing similar salaries with A-List actors! Drawback, this is unlikely. Many aspiring actors are not wealthy and are juggling auditions with work life.

  • Mental Stimulation: You enjoy acting and learning lines, constantly meeting new people and visiting different locations

  • Balance: Little social life/family time when occupied with projects, when unoccupied you may be using free time auditioning and/or working jobs to sustain.

  • Happiness: Constant rejection from casting directors may lead to insecurity and unhappiness. If in public eye privacy may be infringed and subject to scrutiny. Adversely, newfound success and enjoyment of acting would bring immense happiness.

I came to realise that I was dazzled by the prospect of fame and fortune and knew that I was not prepared to be poor and pursuing my so called 'dream job'. Not only this, but I was becoming more aware of the inherent sexism found in the industry. Women and girls are hyper-sexualised and given one-dimensional archetypes. Not to mention the public/tabloid scrutiny and objectification of women- not for their intellect, but for their physical appearance. The ageism that thrives mostly amongst actresses- who peak at 35 before being overlooked for a younger model. Unless you are a legendary figure such as Dame Judy Dench or Meryl Streep, the future is not so bright aged 35+. Not to mention the gender pay gap and that a mere 7% of females directed the top 250 films made in 2016.

Could any woman read the previous paragraph and still consider being an actress 'a dream'? Despite its flaws one can see the positives- the potential for wealth, importance, a platform to make a difference. I saw my dream job through rose tinted glasses and I have come to realise that same dream is a mere indulgence. Unfortunately, my dream job does not exist. There is no straightforward equality, no anonymity and no high chance of success. The reality is that becoming an actress cannot give me the life I desire.

This revelation required logic and rationality in order to find a match in terms of an occupation and I. In many ways, it is similar to that of dating. You want to find a life long partnership, not a short fling. You need to compliment one another- this is the key. When researching what being a lawyer entailed, not only did I think, "What can I do for law?", I also asked the equally important question of, "What can law do for me?"

  • Stability: Initially, I was interested in becoming a barrister due to my love of public speaking and its ties to acting- a performance in front of an audience that has to be convincing for it to be a success. However, like acting, being a barrister (if you are not an in-house barrister) is a solo gig in which there is a lack of consistency in income. Hence why becoming a solicitor suits me far more due to its offer of a stable job and income.

  • Wealth: I am intersted in beginning my career in London, law salaries are higher in cities and this coincides with my criteria.

  • Mental Stimulation: Being a solicitor is the equivalent to being the solution for a problem- finding a solution and providing a service is guaranteed to challenge and stimulate.

  • Balance: From what I have seen and heard, being a lawyer isn't famed for having a well balanced work/social life, we shall see what I make of this in a few years!

  • Happiness: Helping people and communicating is a strength of mine and most importantly, something that I genuinely enjoy, I feel that this is the best occupation for my happiness and passions.

My dream was not what I thought it was, but I am truly happier knowing that I am working hard towards a true and informed dream that is closer to becoming a reality than the former. The arts will always be the love of my life, but I now prefer to appreciate the craft of acting looking up onto a stage or screen.

Do let me know what you think of this blog post at legally.brun@yahoo.co.uk

bottom of page